Remembering My Hat

18th March 2010

Verbing my teaching

Filed under: Uncategorized — rememberingmyhat @ 19:29
Tags: , , ,

55:366 - February 28: Teach by emtboy9.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/justageek/2300396608/

I’m feeling excited about this set of verbs for thinking about what students could be doing when they are on the receiving end of teaching:

  • assimilating (that one’s not exciting, that’s what we usually end up asking them to do – read this chapter and take in the ideas it contains)
  • information handling
  • communicating
  • producing
  • experiencing
  • adapting

These can be further elaborated, thus (apologies for terrible layout which I am insufficiently geeky to fix):

Assimilating:

  • reading
  • viewing
  • listening  (all old news here at the OU)

Information handling:

  • Gathering
  • Ordering
  • Classifying
  • Selecting
  • Analysing
  • Manipulating 

Communicating:

  • Speaking
  • Discussing
  • Presenting
  • Debating
  • Critiquing
  • Posting to forums

Producing:

  • Creating
  • Producing
  • Writing
  • Drawing
  • Composing
  • Synthesizing
  • Re-mixing

Experiencing:

  • Practising
  • Applying
  • Mimicking
  • Experiencing
  • Investigating
  • Performing

Adapting:

  • Modelling
  • Simulating

And doubtless  more verbs, but those are a start.

(I’ve haven’t got to the bottom of exactly where this list of verbs originates, so I’m going to attribute it to some combination of Diana Laurillard and Grainne Conole with particular thanks to Mick Jones who put them in documents and presentations which meant I saw them. And apologies to anyone else I should be crediting and haven’t – will amend if informed)

What I found so exciting was that refering back to this list of verbs makes it so much easier to think of ways of varying my teaching. In particular, it helps me to think about ways of designing Activities for students which are more than ‘read this and make some notes’. To be fair to myself, and to my Faculty, I think we’ve always done quite a lot of experiential activities too, (although I don’t think we’ve explored the learning potential of performing much!) But just looking at this list of verbs makes me feel all creative and full of ideas. Which is particularly timely as we begin the writing process for K319.

It also made me think about the role this blog plays in my own learning about teaching. I’ve been holding off from writing this post for weeks, partly because I couldn’t get to the bottom of the attribution issue, which I’ve fudged above, but also because I feel still quite novice about pedagogy and I got anxious about imagined readers going ‘Gah, that’s dead obvious, everyone knows that’. But this blog is mainly for my benefit and in writing this post I have done a bit of information handling and adapting, as well as assimilating and communicating, so I should allow myself to embrace the position of learner and just post the damn thing.

1 Comment »

  1. Bloom’s taxonomy! Sorry, that may be egg-suckingly basic, but I have come across it again as I am writing a short document on learning outcomes.

    I have a better version of this but have lost the reference:

    Comment by E Saxey — 4th June 2010 @ 16:53 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

